Sunday, May 19, 2024
+256 784 320 146

City crowned premier league champions for the 4th time in a row

Rodri wheels away to celebrate after scoring Man City's third goal against West Ham

Manchester City are Premier League champions again after a 3-1 win over West Ham at the Etihad Stadium.

Needing victory to be certain of retaining their crown and becoming the first club to be champions of England for four consecutive seasons, Phil Foden fired City in front in the second minute and added a second soon after to ease any nerves.

Mohammed Kudus’ overhead kick late in the first half shifted the momentum briefly but Rodri’s low strike early in the second half ended any hope that Arsenal supporters may have had that City would slip up on the final day and gift them the title.

For Pep Guardiola, it is a sixth Premier League title in eight seasons, one achieved as a result of not dropping a point in their final nine games. David Moyes’ West Ham reign ends in defeat and a ninth-place finish in the table. Guardiola’s City go marching on.

Arsenal finished the season as runners-up to Manchester City despite Kai Havertz’s late goal clinching a 2-1 win over Everton at the Emirates Stadium.

Havertz’s close-range finish survived a lengthy VAR check for handball after Takehiro Tomiyasu had cancelled out Idrissa Gueye’s deflected free-kick in the first half.

The 89th-minute strike ensured a winning end to the campaign for Arsenal but they needed a City slip-up against West Ham to claim the title and it did not come, with Pep Guardiola’s side winning 3-1.

The Gunners finish the campaign on 89 points, their second-highest total in Premier League history, but with a two-point gap to champions City. Everton, meanwhile, finish 15th.

Derek Kanalo
the authorDerek Kanalo
News Reporter/ Editor
Am a professionally trained and well skilled media personality. Accuracy is part of my top priority as a journalist.